So Thursday was a crazy busy day at work, and of course an hour before I need to leave my immediate boss has all manner of things he needs done even though he was out all day Wednesday and most of Thursday. This is the way it always works, though...
I had massive fog all the way to Oklahoma City. It was actually scarier in the daytime than night. I guess I'm used to not seeing more than a little bit ahead of me at night, but in the daytime it was just scary. Older daughter gave me her itrip to use with my ipod to listen to since I was travelling solo. I couldn't figure out how to get it to work so ended up having to call her, and then of course it was something simple. Sigh. So it was nice listening to various things while driving in the fog. But before that I called and talked to my sister. Yes, I know...I was driving and talking on my cell phone. In the fog. Bad girl. But it did make the time go faster. Then while I was talking to her, I got two calls from work. I ign ored them until after I was done. So I listened to voicemail and it really wasn't anything important. I called V my assistant and ended up finding out what was going on at the office while I was gone. I didn't leave until 3:10, so you wouldn't think all that much would be going on, but apparently things were needed immediately and so on. I decided not to worry so I didn't. But I ended up getting lost somewhat since I didn't take the exit I needed to. I've driven throughOKC before, but never actually done much travelling inside of it and freeways were veering to the right and left and it was confusing. But I managed to finally get to the hotel, checked in, and one trip of stuff put up to the room before heading to the pool and filling up the gas tank. So, yeah, I did get to the pool kinda late, but I should have been on time except for the fact that due to the fog a lot didn't make it Thursday night. He did very well in his part of the 800 free relay, but it didn't count toward his 200 free time as he wasn't first, so kinda bummed about that. So we drove around, got a bite to eat at Sonic (his choice), got his gatorade at 7-11 and went to the hotel. I was going to say went to bed, but although he went to bed pretty quickly after channel surfing for awhile, I stayed up and did a little work on my laptop. Set the alarm for 6:15 am. Yuck.
So I didn't have to take him to the pool for warm up as son's friend's mom was gonna do Friday and I'd do Saturday. So I laid back down after getting him downstairs to the free continental breakfast. When I finally got back up (I didn't sleep, just laid there and rested) I was kinda sore. I think the tenseness of driving in the fog at night and getting lost kinda made my legs ache. I was too late for the continental breakfast as they closed at 9. So I found my way to Walmart and fought the crowds to get all manner of exciting things. I had left my coat at home, not thinking at all whatsoever that I was going north in mid December... so ended up buying a coat at Walmart. Actually I hadn't bought a coat for myself in forever, so it was kinda nice. And even though it was at Walmart it was a nicer one. Like suede and some furry stuff at the neck. And in black so I could wear it for casual or dressy. And it was not very expensive to top it off! So picked up some groceries for DJ --chocolate milk, gatorade, cheese, turkey, rolls, juice, crackers, bananas, and a couple of Christmas presents--and then got to the swim meet in time to watch him get out of the water after his 400 IM. Whoops! Bad mom. I guess there were still some people having trouble getting to the meet and didn't show, making the timeline shorter. So we grabbed a bite at Subway and headed to the motel. While he rested and slept, I worked. Apparently all kinds of things were hopping at the office since guys were wanting to get out of town for the holidays and such, so the big main boss came into my office apparently wondering where I was at. He does not come to the office more than about 8-10 hours a week, but of course when I am gone he needs me for something? V told him that I was at a swim meet, but due to the workload I was there working from the hotel. Which was true. I finished up all kinds of work and ended up working about 4.5 hours altogether. So it is kinda annoying. Like I am taking a day off, end up working most of it, put in a bunch of hours the week before to get ahead, and then feel frowned upon for being gone? Well, I am not going to let it bother me. In face one time one of the guys said something (and I work on average 45 hours/week) and I retorted, "I will be glad to go to hourly wages!" and all of a sudden it was dropped. There is no question in any of the guys' minds that I work more than anybody else in the company. I like to work hard and get a good reputation so that when I need to be gone and have to do things with the kids or whatever, there is no question. However, this main boss guy isn't around to see that I'm working so much, so he has no clue. But I just need to let it go! LOL
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Youngest son
Swimmer
No comments:
Post a Comment