So, yeah....I guess I write about things going wrong. Today was not a great day, but...well...
When we got back from Oklahoma City Sunday afternoon I found out that the washing machine went out. The one that went out before and then miraculously started working has decided not to even turn on at all. With stuff inside of it. And you can't get them out cuz it is locked. So this morning the repairman was coming by between 8 and 12 to give an estimate. Fortunately before I left for work he called to say he was on his way and would be here at 8. So hubby went on to work and I let the kids sleep in. I got on my computer and checked work email and such while I waited. And waited. At 8:25 the van pulled up and then waited some more. Finally about 8:45 he got out of the van and came in and checked it out. A hundred dollars to tell me that it would cost about 400.00 more to replace the sensor and seal. Yeah, right. I mean, it is a really nice frontloading washing machine that cost 899.99 two years ago last March, but good grief you can get a really nice top loading one for under $400.00 new. I asked him to try to get the door open so we can get the stuff out of it and he tried but was afraid he'd break something else....so I didn't press the issue.
Then he sat in his van with my credit card for like another 45 minutes. My suspicious mind was thinking he was doing all his Christmas shopping with my credit card. Hopefully not. I will go online the next few days just in case.
So got to work a little after 10, didn't take a lunch break except to eat a half of a wrap from Subway that Charlie (coworker) got for me. Worked until almost 6:30 and then wrapped up my Christmas shopping. Whew! Now I need to wrap my gifts. OK, did you notice that I used the word "wrap" three times with different meanings in this paragraph? And NOT EVEN INTENTIONALLY! However, I did not listen to rap music while I was doing any of it. Nor did I rap my fingers.
I was pulling into a parking space and miscalculated how close I was to the next car and hit it. Yup, I've been driving a full sized van for exactly 19.5 years and finally did it. The guy was in his truck and not happy. He was getting ready to pull out as i was pulling in. He jumped out of the truck really fast and was disgusted. He started to get mad at me, saying he thought I was going to wait for him to pull out. I was calm as calm could be for some reason. I just said, "Oh dear, I am really sorry. This has been a really bad day. Is there any damage? I didn't think you had enough room to pull out with me there." I was so calm and contrite that he immediately calmed down. I pulled into a different parking spot and we both looked at his truck. No damage that I could see, but he said that his bumper looked like it went in a bit. Then we went and looked at my van. It had some scratches on it, but nothing much really. I was going like 2 mph. He mumbled something about his third accident this year. I asked him what he wanted to do. He looked over at my van and back at his truck and said, "Oh, nevermind. Merry Christmas!"
I said, "Well, thanks, and you, too!"
And he drove off.
And for some reason I wasn't even shaking, upset, or anything. It was like I was so calm. Rare. Cool.
One day at a time. That is my daily prayer. One day at a time. I can do one day at a time.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Youngest son
Swimmer
No comments:
Post a Comment